Get to Know the USA Women's Sevens Rugby Squad

Ground-breaking history continues, as women's rugby will be played for the first time at the 2016 Olympics.

USA Rugby announced the 12 athletes who will represent Team USA:

1. Jillion Potter - Austin, Texas

2. Kelly Griffin - Berkeley, Calif.

3. Kathryn Johnson - Hopkins, Minn.

4. Alev Kelter - Eagle River, Alaska

5. Bui Baravilala - Honolulu

6. Lauren Doyle - Boody, Ill.

7. Victoria Folayan - Boston

8. Carmen Farmer - Richmond, Va.

9. Joanne Fa'avesi - Monterey, Calif.

10. Richelle Stephens - Fallbrook, Calif.

11. Ryan Carlyle - West Nyack, N.Y.

12. Jessica Javelet - San Diego, Calif.

"I have selected a group of girls with a wide variety of playing styles and I am excited to see them all come together and play for each other in Rio," said USA's Head Coach Richie Walker.

According to Deloitte, the Women's Eagles Sevens are pioneers seeking to establish the U.S. as a world powerhouse and they are introducing the sport to women across the country.

This short video demonstrates how commitment to teamwork and grit motivates them to set the tone at the Olympics.

The USA Rugby Women's Sevens Team was drawn into Pool A with Australia, Colombia, and Fiji for the Games. All of the matches are set to be played at Deodoro Stadium August 6-8th.

NEXT: Meet the 2016 Olympics US Gymnastics Team »

Related Stories:
10 Young Female Athletes to Watch at the Rio 2016 Summer Olympics
Meet the Women Who Are Part of the Olympics' First All-Refugee Team

Photo Credit: Getty Images